Entrepreneurship and Following Through

Enjoying the stability of a regular paycheck and, now, having a family has heightened my desire for stability.  I’ve worked in the customer service and non-profit fields for almost ten years now.  My resumé consists of three large companies and a handful of small organizations.  During my tenure I’ve spent a lot of time talking with customers from my parents’ and grandparents’ generations.  I have always had a hard time wrapping my head around the fact that many are close to, or have already retired from a company they’ve been with for twenty, thirty, or even forty years.  The longest I’ve ever been with a company is three years, so the idea of long term company loyalty is foreign to me.

Ultimately, I would love to start my own business or non-profit, but also understand that I have a romanticized view of what that means.  Entrepreneurs are almost always on the clock, especially early on in their venture.  The truth is tat I love the idea of starting things, but am not always the best at following through on the idea.  For example, I’ve been writing digital music for 12 years now.  I’ve had some really cool opportunities, like having one of my songs played on a British underground radio station, but I also have dozens of unfinished songs.  The thrill of starting something new is intoxicating, but setting goals and keeping them is a whole other story.

Writing this blog is an anomaly in and of itself for me.  This will be my third post in less than two weeks and I’m still excited to sit down and type away.  I don’t have any real goals other than tossing my ideas out here, which may be part of the reason I’m still at it.  I’m hoping that it turns in to a habit, because it’s remarkably liberating.  I’m not sure if writing is something I could turn into a business or expect people to donate money to me so that I could do it full time, but sometimes the idea tugs at me.  For now, I’ll stay here and see what happens.

If you happen to have a topic suggestion for a future post, I’d love to hear it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

