Someone Else

I enjoy learning about what other people are excited by, and why it excites them.  A perfect example of this came in my Instagram feed this morning.

Today, New balance announced a limited run of shoes constructed with a 3-D Printed midsole.  Now, some of you may be thinking, “Ok, whatever.” because sneakers and running don’t interest you, but they are someone else’s passion.  Someone took the time to design, develop, and engineer shoes that are constructed using cutting edge technology.  These people have dedicated their life’s work to making better sneakers because there is a group of people that are always looking for the next best thing in athletic footwear.  When I read through the inspiration and creation process on their website, I could feel the child-like glee oozing out of my screen.

I grew up surrounding myself with people that were interested in the same things as me, and my world was fairly small because of it.  Thanks to the internet, I’ve been able to learn more about ideas, cultures, and people that are dramatically different from my own.  I still prefer to spend my time with people who have shared interests, but I’ve been slowly growing my understanding of differing subcultures (freerunning and parkour being one of the most personally impactful).

I know that I can’t know everything there is to know about every subculture, but I have found a joy of exploring what makes other people tick.  To me, the discovery and awareness of what drives other people is a powerful tool for me to be a better person.  I know that it will sometimes be difficult to avoid losing who I am in the midst of the exploration, but I still regularly find myself wanting to take the plunge into other worlds.

Ultimately, this blog will be an outlet for that exploration.  It will be a place to process through my discoveries and share what I have found.

Leave a Reply

